Keeping the Sabbath

Have you ever had the experience of feeling like you were dropped into an alternate reality where a world is happening that doesn’t seem at all possible???  Hard to believe, but that has been my experience here in Reno today.  I started out seeing this “show” that was for a children cancer charity called Twisted Broadway, which was actually pretty good, and then took a stroll through town to a local coffee shop where I had the chance to chat with the the barista about the trip I was doing.  I then continued near the Truckee River here in town where there was literally a revival of sorts going on in the park with some great Gospel music.  It wasn’t just the revival that pushed me over the edge on this sabbath experience, but the number of families that were in the park listening, picnicking, spending time on the river relaxing, conversing, and in my case, observing all that was going on.  To be honest, it was quite overwhelming because it is such a different pace of life than what is often typical back East. As a matter of fact, I’m not sure I have experienced anything like it other than my summers in Omaha, NE.  In so many ways we have lost the sense of Sabbath, and what irony to find in here in Reno, NV; I never thought that would have been the case.  It is proof that sabbath goes beyond attending Mass or a church service, but also includes so much more…an “apartness” from the regular routine of the week to sit and rest in the presence of the Lord.  It was very much evident here in Reno this past day; it did so much feel like an alternate reality, something so atypical from what I am accustomed to in my own life.  This was a much needed stop “along the way”, not only for a break from the train, although I have thought about many of them throughout the day, but also as a healthy reminder of what is really important in life…this seeming alternate reality which is a very typical way of life here in Reno.

4 thoughts on “Keeping the Sabbath

  1. Father Marty, Thank you so much for allowing us to tag along on your journey with you through your writings. I look forward to your blogs and the inspiration you so freely share with us~you give us so much to reflect on through out our day. Safe travels and God Bless.

  2. In Reno, of all places! take good notes, my sissy just bought a house up in Truckee, about 25 miles away.

Leave a Reply

